The Perils Of Internet Shopping

Buying a new Camera and a new phone

 

In preparation for sailing on the East Med Yacht Rally and then independently around the world I ordered a new Nokia smartphone on 2nd February and a new Nikon Camera on 3rd February. Both were ordered via the Amazon website, the Nokia from a trader called ‘Diavoletta’ and the Nikon from a trader called ‘The Centre’.

 

Today is the 18th February. Neither item arrived, in fact the Nokia never even showed as dispatched on Amazon, the Nikon has showed as dispatched since about three days after the order was placed. I e-mailed ‘The Centre’ twice to tell them this expensive item had not arrived, despite the fact that someone has been home constantly to receive it, but they did not even have the courtesy to reply. I telephoned Amazon customer services who told me they did not recognise the carrier ‘The Centre’ claimed to have used. That’s really worrying!

 

I advised Amazon that I have plans to leave the country (I need to do some work on the boat and then hurry East to meet the rally) but Amazon are totally inflexible about timings, they have rules you know, their own rules, made by them and they won’t bend them to take any account of their customer’s circumstances. I also e-mailed ‘Diavoletta’ several times since that order never even got to the ‘dispatched’ stage, asking when it would be dispatched. I received one garbled and miss-spelled reply with no actual information about fulfilling the order.

 

Since ‘Diavoletta’ never got to dispatch it appears my credit card has not been charged, I hope it won’t be, however, ‘The Centre’ took payment in full for a very expensive camera and Amazon want two more weeks to investigate. Be warned!

About sailorsnook

I live on a boat and travel most of the time. I used to be a skydiving instructor, car and motorcycle racer. I ran my own advertising agency for many years. I'm interested in ski-ing and snowboarding, writing, music and dancing, particularly swing dancing. I have plans for a world peace campaign.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The Perils Of Internet Shopping

  1. Mr WordPress says:

    Hi, this is a comment.
    To delete a comment, just log in, and view the posts’ comments, there you will have the option to edit or delete them.

Leave a Reply

